Child Lock Feature

I am a huge promoter of technology. Technology is the world we live in now. You would be holding your children back if you didn’t expose your children to it. I am SOOO glad that I was introduced to it when I was younger- it has helped me so much in my career. Now don’t get me wrong, I will NOT use gadgets as a babysitter. My kids WILL go outside and play. However, I do want them to understand how to use a computer, phone, iPad, etc. Technology is progressing so fast its almost hard to keep up so allowing them to explore different gadgets is the least we can do.

Brayden is only 18 months so he doesn’t have too much exposure. We allow him to play with the IPAD about 2-4 times a month. He plays educational games and I usually sit and play with him to show him how to play them. He loves to tap the screen aimlessly and he lovessss pressing that ‘home’ button. Drives me crazy!! He was exiting out of the apps every 2 seconds and I would have to keep opening the app back up for him. Even worse, he would press the button so much that it would make it so he could delete my apps.

My in-laws were over and I thought it was so cool that they had a ‘child lock’ option on their androids. I thought “why didn’t APPLE have that option?” so i did some research and found out that they do 🙂

The child lock feature allows you to lock into an app so you don’t have to worry about your child exiting the app. It also has a way to block the area where ads are located so you don’t have to worry about them hitting it and straying from the app. This works for your Ipad or your Iphone. It has made my life so much easier.

Maybe I’m just way behind but just in case I’m not the only one that didn’t know about this cool feature, i thought I would share. 🙂

Here is how the feature works:

1. Go to Settings on your iPhone or iPAD

2. Go to General, then choose Accessibility

3.In Accessibility, find the selection box titled Guided Access; turn this ON.

4.You will need to set a passcode.

5.Open an app to use the feature

Open up any app you want your child to play with. Triple click the home button and a new screen pops up that allows you to adjust the guided access for that specific app:

At the bottom of the screen, you have the option to turn hardware buttons off, turn touch on or off (I leave this on as the game needs to be able to touch around within the app) and motion on or off (I also leave this on). While in guided access, if you circle any area a grayed out box will appear, as shown in the picture above (see the little box with a small “x” on top-left corner).  This area will now become unclickable when guided access is turned on. This is a great tool to use over those annoy ads or maybe the play/pause buttons of a movie app. If you want to change this grey coverage, there is a little ‘x’ you can click to delete that selection and make a new selection. Once all your settings are the way you want them, select the blue Start button at the top-right corner and the app will resume as normal.

6. Stop the guided access feature

When your child is finished playing with that app or you want to enter a different app, you triple click your home button, but this time since guided access is turned on you have to put in your passcode.  Once you type in your passcode you can select End if you are finished, or make changes and select resume to continue with the guided access on.  After you hit end you are able to click the home button and return to your home screen.

I hope you can get as much use out of this feature as I have!

Leave a Reply

